Tech Students Win Addy Awards

Louisiana Tech communication design majors have participated in the 2013 American Advertising Competition, sponsored by the American Advertising Federation of Shreveport-Bossier (AAFSB).  Five undergraduate students majoring in communication design have won a total of nine awards with their entries featuring designs created as class projects at Tech.  The awards were presented to the students on February 23 at an awards banquet in Shreveport attended by marketing, advertising, graphic design, and public relations professionals from the Shreveport area.  The competition, better known as the ADDY Awards, is a showcase of professionals’ work from the Shreveport marketing area, and it also attracts student entries from Tech, LSU-Shreveport, and Centenary College.  A distinguished, three-judge panel of advertising industry leaders from Dallas juried both professional and student print and broadcast advertising and communication design entries.

Gold ADDYs represent the highest achievement in excellence.  Hoyeong Lee won a Student Gold Award for her poster design for the 2012 Louisiana Peach Festival. Her entry will be forwarded by AAFSB to the AAF District 10 ADDY competition to be held in Tulsa, where it will vie with student entries from Louisiana, Texas, Oklahoma, and Arkansas.

Four silver ADDY awards were won by four Tech student entries. Morgan Andrus was awarded silver for an advertising campaign for Earthwatch Institute. Hoyeong Lee took a silver for her IKEA annual report design. Clint Thornton won silver for his annual report for Element Skateboards. Kaitlyn Wooley was awarded silver for her 2012 Louisiana Peach Festival poster design.

Three Student Bronze ADDYs were given to three sudents. Morgan Andrus won with a magazine ad for the Cotton Board. Hoyeong Lee submitted a bronze-winning magazine ad for Super Glue. Ashley Sellers took a bronze with her poster series for Shack Up Inn in Clarksdale, Mississippi.

The Best of Student Award is given by the judges to the entry deemed to be the most outstanding student entry in the show, and that award was given to Hoyeong Lee for her Louisiana Peach Festival Poster design.

The School of Art at Louisiana Tech is proud of the achievements of alumni and gradautes from the Communication Design program fared very well in the professional competition. Jessica Hawkins, MFA 2012, was honored with the Best of Print award at the banquet. Two Tech alumni from 2003, Fausto Quintanilla and Greg Farrington, have teamed together to form a Shreveport firm called the Gorilla Design Studio and won the coveted Best of Show award for their Louisiana Film Prize campaign.