Architecture Student Group Honored with Two National Awards

The Louisiana Tech University Chapter of the American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS) was honored with two of the seven national Honor Awards presented at the 2014 AIAS Forum in Nashville, Tennessee held from 29 December 2014 through 1 January 2015. AIAS Forum, the American Institute of Architecture Student’s annual conference, is the largest gathering of architecture students in the world.


Each year the AIAS honors individuals and groups for their exemplary work in areas such as leadership, collaboration, scholarship, and service. The AIAS Honor Awards were developed to publicly recognize outstanding achievements by students, educators, and practitioners who have exhibited an exemplary commitment to the education and development of architecture students.


Samantha Raburn (M.Arch 2014) was awarded the 2014 Chapter President of the Year Award, recognizing one of over 180 chapter presidents for his or her outstanding leadership, dedication, and commitment to the consistent growth and development of the AIAS at his or her school.


Louisiana Tech University was also awarded the 2014 Freedom By Design Award, the highest award bestowed upon an AIAS Chapter’s Freedom By Design (FBD) Program for radically impacting the lives of people with accessible design. Freedom by Design™, the AIAS community service program, utilizes the talents of architecture students to radically impact the lives of people in their community through modest design and construction solutions. Vital modifications are made to enhance the homes of low-income and disabled individuals by addressing their struggles with everyday tasks such as bathing, ascending stairs and opening doors. FBD’s priority is improving the safety, comfort and dignity of the home’s occupants. The award was presented to Remington Bard, current AIAS Chapter President at Louisiana Tech University and 2013-2014 FBD Director.


Congratulations to Sam, Remi and the LaTech AIAS Chapter on these honors!